Log in


William V. Storch Student Award

AWRA Florida offers William V. Storch Student Awards in the amount of $1,500 to undergraduate and graduate Florida college or university students. The selection criteria for an undergraduate student is based on academic performance including the cumulative grade point average, relevance of the student’s curriculum to water resources and leadership in extracurricular activities related to water resources. The criteria for a graduate student is based on academic and/or research performance. The measures of academic performance are identical to those described for the undergraduate criteria with the addition of the quality of the student’s research and its relevance to water resources. Applicants should prepare a title page and two-page summary of their academic interests and achievements, extracurricular interests and career goals as they relate to the above selection criteria. The application must also include a letter of reference, preferably from a professor or advisor, a transcript of all college courses and the applicant’s full name, permanent mailing address, email address, and phone number. Applications must be received by Friday, April 12, 2024.

2024 Application forms for undergraduate and graduate applicants are now available.

2023 William V. Storch Graduate Student Awards

Sanneri Santiago Borres – University of Florida

2nd year PhD Student in Environmental Engineering Sciences studying the distribution and transport pathways of emerging pollutants like PFAS in FL coastal ecosystems after extreme weather events. She experienced 2 Cat 5 hurricanes firsthand in Puerto Rico – Irma & Maria.


Javid Ali – University of Central Florida

PhD Student in Water Resources Engineering studying extreme weather events in Florida, their drivers, and the impacts on both communities and the environment. The goal is to help understand the underlying mechanisms that drive vulnerability of communities and ecosystems.

2023 William V. Storch Undergraduate Student Awards

Sydney Cloutier – University of Miami